Learning Not to Depend on Someone for Happiness

codepdenencyHave you ever entered into a situation where you constantly need attention?  Where their time and devotion is all you crave and you just can’t get enough?  I have had to deal with that lately and let me tell you it sucks.  I was very independent and was talking to many people for a while.  Even dabbled in polygamy, just so I wouldn’t be so needy and devoted to one person.  When you give yourself to one person, sometimes they can become your world and you lose yourself.  Of whatever you were.

That’s where I am at.  I would like to blame bipolar and say “oh yeah, my illness causes my co-dependency.”  But you know that’s not the case.  Learning to love someone that has a hobby they love can be tough.  For women its hard too, when guys are really into their sports, video games and TV shows.  We try to accommodate them by forcing ourselves to enjoy what they love, but why not find something that we love?  Find your own want and needs.

I am at these crossroads now, and I don’t really know what to do.  I am lost trying to find my way.  Not talking to multiple people and keeping my options constantly open was great for me.  I am not used to this.  HELP!!

This entry was posted in Bipolar and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

