Positive Affirmations

fat mirrorWhat are these?  Who the hell says they work?  So many times I hear these words being spoken.  “Say positive affirmations to yourself in the mirror and things will get better.”  I call bullshit.  People lie to themselves all the time. I know I do.  When I look in the mirror I see a horrible fat girl. Positive affirmations, HA! Does this really work? To a skeptical and pessimistic mind such as myself, no it doesn’t work.  I’m so far down the rabbit hole in my negativity that I can’t find a way out.

But then there is a good day.  Its not all horrors and depressive thoughts.  I had one of these good days today.  Maybe it was the Skype dates I had last night.  Yes plural.  I’m the little online vixen player.  WOOT! WOOT!  These two Skype dates I had made me feel beautiful.  My real dates not so much.  But video chatting can really make you feel good. Who knew?  Video chatting was more than a bunch of flashing penises and breasts on cam. LOL.

I saw my therapist today, hence the good day.  And even though I don’t practice the art of positive affirmations, I do things for myself.  Like that wine at dinner, or that new lipstick I bought.  I even asked if there were any activities I could get involved with at the counseling center.  Broadening my horizons.  Putting myself out there.  That’s the real positive affirmation.

If you can’t look in the mirror and say them to yourself,  just get dressed and go out.  Smell the air, walk in the rain.  Enjoy the outdoors.  You can say good things to yourself in the mirror all the time, but if you’re not out there they will never work.  I can’t look myself in the mirror and say something positive.  But I can go out and treat myself.  Do something for you.  You’re worth it.  Oh you’re totally worth it.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Positive Affirmations

  1. This makes positive impact in life.

  2. redanyaleigh says:

    This is amazing! And so true, because I can’t like myself if I look at myself in a mirror for too long. Pampering yourself is the best way to make everything seem a little better 🙂

Leave a Reply

