How SEX Forces People to Marry

marrigePretty fucked up huh?  You would think in this day and age we would be more liberated and more open to more freedoms.  Now I am not trying to insult someone who makes a conscious choice to save themselves for marriage, what I am talking about is forcing kids to get married that are having sex.

My sister was 19, her boyfriend was 20.  His father is so old fashioned and set in his ways he viewed it as a “sin” for them to engage in sex because they weren’t married. Its the Muslim way and he is very religious.  My parents are Muslim too, but more liberal, only because they had their hands full with me as a teenager.  I was already out the house at 17 while giving the finger to my parents on my way out because they were too strict.  This led to me not finishing high school and never going to college.  Just a starving 17 year old working in retail to make rent.

Anyway, enough about me.  This forced my parents to loosen up a lot, and my sister had pretty much a good life with a lot of freedom because of my antics.  So naturally when the thought of marriage came up for these two kids, I had to pull my mother aside and say “You’re not going to let her go through with this are you?”.  When I was 19 and engaged, he had to go to jail for me to figure what a loser he was, my sister on the other hand has never been with another man, ever, and hasn’t experienced her 20s yet.  Should she get married because she is having sex with this guy?  Does that seem right?  Its her life right so who am I to say?

I’m 33 and still single.  Maybe my sister is on the right path?  Thoughts are welcome please.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How SEX Forces People to Marry

  1. thenarcissistwrites says:

    I’m definitely the kind of person that needs to test drive the car before I buy it. Let your sister have fun. The important thing is that she stays safe and happy.

  2. johnnyid says:

    Good post, good questions. 🙂

    Just a personal opinion, but I think the reason that divorce rates are so high are because people get married so young. It’s almost like moving back in with your parents, rather than having the personal freedoms that come with finally getting out on your own you’re put back into a relationship that restricts those freedoms. It might not seem like it at the time, but eventually resentments build up or people grow apart. I was married at 21, divorced at 29, so I have a little experience.

    I think the only way to have a happy, healthy marriage is for both individuals to have a full, adventurous life, and full of experiences. Then both people can go into the relationship with maturity and full knowledge of the other options out there.

    So, I would highly, highly encourage your sister to wait.

    • I am trying to, I am always talking to her, telling her there is so much out there to experience. But I try not to get in the way either. I can’t force her to make the right choice. Your points are valid and well thought out, so thank you for that! I will just have to keep trying. Wedding Bells aren’t in the air yet, but they will be soon. Btw, I’m sorry your marriage didn’t work out.

      • johnnyid says:

        I’m not sorry it didn’t work. It’s a part of life, it’s a part of the experiences that have put me where I am today. We’re all shaped by the bad experiences as well as the good ones.

        My own sister went through a similar situation when she was that age. Luckily, she didn’t go through with it and she is in a really great place now.

        You’re right, you can’t force her to make a decision either way. I guess the best advice would be to stick with her either way and however things work out. And hopefully she makes the right decision. 😉

      • True that! Thanks for all the wonderful advice! I wish there was a chat option on this thing, would love to pick your brain! (not in a gross way lol)

      • johnnyid says:

        If you want to chat more, my email address is idsredbook@gmail.com

      • I just sent you a message at +Google, I am unchainedsoul1980@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

